# STROUD DISTRICT COUNCIL

## COUNCIL

# 20 JULY 2023

Report Title	Political Balance and Committee Allocations				
Purpose of Report	To update the allocation of seats in accordance with the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 and appoint changes to membership of committees and appointments with effect from 20 July 2023.				
Decision(s)	The Council RESOLVES to approve the changes to				
	committee membership and political balance as set out in the report and appendix A.				
Consultation and Feedback	The proposed appointments have been subject to consultation with the Group Leaders.				
Report Author	Jenna Malpass, Senior Democratic Services & Elections Officer Email: jenna.malpass@stroud.gov.uk Hannah Emery, Corporate Policy & Governance Manager Email: hannah.emery@stroud.gov.uk				
Options	Members may make alternative nominations to the places available on committees subject to compliance with the allocation rules.				
Background Papers	None.				
Appendices	Appendix A – Nominations for Committee Seat Allocations.				
Implications (further details at	Financial	Legal	Equality	Environmental	
the end of the report)	No	Yes	No	No	

 Political Composition
 The Council consists of a number of political groupings. The various groups comprise
 the following Members.

Conservative Group Councillors (16)				
Gordon Craig	Nick Hurst	Loraine Patrick		
Stephen Davies	Julie Job	Keith Pearson		
Trina Davis	Haydn Jones	Mark Ryder		
Chris Evans	John Jones	Haydn Sutton		
Victoria Gray	David Mossman	Brian Tipper		
Lindsey Green*	Gill Oxley			
Community Independent Group Councillors (4)				
Doina Cornell	Colin Fryer	Trevor Hall		
Robin Layfield*				
Green Group Councillors (14)				
Beki Aldam	Jonathan Edmunds	Martin Pearcy		
Martin Baxendale	Steve Hynd	Lucas Schoemaker		
Catherine Braun*	Chris Jockel	Chloe Turner		
Martin Brown	Norman Kay	Tricia Watson		
Kate Crews	Gary Luff			
Independent Left Group (4)				

Natalie Bennett*	Helen Fenton	Mattie Ross		
Paula Baker				
Labour Group Councillors (5)				
Jessie Hoskin	Nigel Prenter	Ashley Smith		
Jenny Miles	Steve Robinson*			
SDC Liberal Democrat Group Councillors (3)				
George James	Ken Tucker*	Rich Wilsher		

<sup>\*</sup> Group Leader

Note: In addition to the above, there are four Independent Members, namely, Councillors Nigel Studdert-Kennedy (known as 'Conservative - No Group') and Councillors Chris Brine, Laurie Davies and Nick Housden.

#### 2. Committees

The committees which are subject to political balance requirements currently comprise the following:

Committee	No. of Members on the committee		
Audit & Standards	9		
Community Services & Licensing	12		
Development Control	12		
Environment	13		
Housing	12		
Strategy and Resources	14		

## 3. Allocations to committees subject to political balance requirements

The seats on each committee must be allocated to each political group as required by the Local Government and Housing Act 1989. On the basis of the existing committee structure, the changes to the political balance and agreement between the Alliance Groups, the allocations are as set out below (changes have been highlighted in red).

Total no. of councillors 51	Conservative (16 Cllrs)	Green (14 Clirs)	Labour (5 Clirs)	Community Independents (4 Cllrs)	•	Liberal Democrats (3 Cllrs)	Total seats available
Audit & Standards	3	3	1	1	1	0	9
Community Services & Licensing	5	3	1	1	1	1	12
Development Control	5	5	1	0	1	0	12
Environment	4	5	2	1	0	1	13
Housing	4	3	1	1	2	1	12
Strategy & Resources	5	3	2	1	2	1	14
Seats to be allocated per Group	25	23	8	5	7	4	72

Council Meeting Agenda Item 10

- 3.2 Committee Memberships were agreed at the Council Annual Meeting on 18 May 2023.
- 3.3 Due to the change to the political balance following Councillor Laurie Davies's decision to become an Independent Councillor and Councillor Nick Hurst's decision to join the Conservative Group, nominations for the updated seat allocations will be shown in red in the tables in Appendix A.
- 3.4 The Labour Group and Conservative Group have also notified Democratic Services of the following changes which have been implemented:
  - Councillor Jessie Hoskin replaced Councillor Nigel Prenter on Environment Committee
  - Councillor Ashley Smith replaced Councillor Laurie Davies on Strategy and Resources Committee.
  - Councillor Nick Hurst replaced Councillor Trina Davis on Strategy and Resources Committee.

#### 4. IMPLICATIONS

## 4.1 Financial Implications

There are no financial implications of this decision.

Andrew Cummings, Strategic Director of Resources

Email: andrew.cummings@stroud.gov.uk, Tel: 01453 454115

### 4.2 Legal Implications

Under Section 15 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 as the Council has the power to make appointments to the membership of committees it also has a duty to review the representation of different political groups on that body where the members are divided into different political groups.

One Legal

Email: legalservices@onelegal.org.uk, Tel: 01684 272102

#### 4.3 Equality Implications

There are not any specific changes to service delivery proposed within this decision.

#### 4.4 Environmental Implications

There are no significant implications within this category.